The Philippines hosts the 32nd ASEAN Maritime Transport Working Group at BE Grand Hotel, Bohol on October 18-20, 2016. It chairs the ASEAN MTWG from 2016-2017. The meeting is chaired by Maritime Industry Authority (MARINA) Administrator Marcial Q.C. Amaro III, Ph.D. following directives from 41st Senior Transport Officials Meeting; ASEAN Transport Ministers Meeting; and other ASEAN coordinating bodies. Delegates come from ASEAN member countries, dialogue partners, international groups and private organizations.

The Department of Transportation (DOTr) heads the Philippine Delegation with Sec. Arthur P. Tugade and Asst. Sec. for Maritime Sector Fernando Juan C. Perez as DOTr representatives.

As chair, the Philippines should hold two meetings a year. The 31st MTWG meeting held on April 6-8 in Boracay, Aklan was the first hosting.
The meeting aims to monitor the progress in implementation of Kuala Lumpur Transport Strategic Plan; to review ASEAN near-coastal voyage limits and current arrangements for Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for ASEAN seafarers; and to update on possible avenues to operationalize ASEAN RO-RO shipping network.

Bohol Gov. Edgar M. Chatto will give the Welcome Remarks.

For more information, please contact:
Mr. Herbert V. Nalupa
Chair, Media Group
PH Secretariat for the Hosting of the 32nd ASEAN MTWG Meeting
Tel No: +632 774 3421 / 774 3428 │ Email: